User login

ATM LOCUS

Première LOcalisation ChromosomiqUe de gènes du déterminisme du Sexe chez les mollusques - approche comparative chez l’huître Crassostrea gigas et la seiche Sepia officinali

Team 2: Reproduction and development of aquatic organisms: evolution, adaptation, regulations
2017 to 2018
Program type: 
National/Regional

Sex determination is a key physiological process of reproduction, essential to the life cycle. The Molluscs belong to the Lophotrochozoa, an important group of the Bilateria, poorly documented on this physiological mechanism.

This project aims to understand the sex determination in 2 Molluscs, the oyster Crassostrea gigas and the cuttlefish Sepia officinalis. These organisms are two species of economic importance, which exhibit very different life cycles and breeding patterns, reflecting the diversity of their phylum.

The objective of this project is to locate, for the 1st time in these molluscs, by karyotyping and Fluorescent In Situ Hybridization (FISH) on chromosomes, known and well-conserved sex-determining genes of the male and of the female cascade. This comparative approach will help understanding sex determination in an evolutionary perspective.

Current program:
For 12 months

Funds come from "Actions Transversales du Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle"

Connexion utilisateur

ATM LOCUS

Première LOcalisation ChromosomiqUe de gènes du déterminisme du Sexe chez les mollusques - approche comparative chez l’huître Crassostrea gigas et la seiche Sepia officinali

Equipe 2 : Reproduction et Développement des Organismes Aquatiques : Evolution, Adaptation et Régulations
2017 - 2018
Type de programme: 
National/Régional

Le déterminisme sexuel est un processus clé de la reproduction, indispensable au cycle de vie. Les Mollusques appartiennent aux Lophotrochozoaires, un groupe important des Bilatériens, mais peu documenté sur ce mécanisme physiologique.

Ce projet vise à comprendre le déterminisme du sexe chez 2 Mollusques, l’huître Crassostrea gigas et la seiche Sepia officinalis. Ces organismes sont des espèces d’importance économique, qui présentent des cycles de vie et des modes de reproduction très différents, à l’image de la diversité de leur Embranchement.

L’objectif du projet est de localiser, pour la 1ère fois chez ces Mollusques, par caryotypage et localisation par Hybridation In Situ en Fluorescence (FISH) sur chromosomes, des gènes connus et bien conservés du déterminisme sexuel mâle et femelle. Cette approche comparative permettra d’appréhender le déterminisme sexuel dans une perspective évolutive.

Ce projet a été financé pour un an dans le cadre des Actions Transversales du Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle.