User login

DNA Metabarcoding of Amazonian Ichthyoplankton Swarms

9 Mar 2017
Article à la Une
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 08:00
Isabelle MOUAS

DNA Metabarcoding of Amazonian Ichthyoplankton Swarms. M. E. Maggia, Y. Vigouroux, J. F. Renno, F. Duponchelle, E. Desmarais, J. Nunez, C. Garcia-Davila, F. M. Carvajal-Vallejos, E. Paradis, J. F. Martin, C. Mariac (2017).
PLoS ONE 12(1): e0170009. doi:10.1371/  journal.pone.0170009

Tropical rainforests harbor extraordinary biodiversity. The Amazon basin is thought to hold 30% of all river fish species in the world. Information about the ecology, reproduction, and recruitment of most species is still lacking, thus hampering fisheries management and successful conservation strategies. One of the key understudied issues in the study of population dynamics is recruitment. Fish larval ecology in tropical biomes is still in its infancy owing to identification difficulties.

Molecular techniques are very promising tools for the identification of larvae at the species level. However, one of their limits is obtaining individual sequences with large samples of larvae. To facilitate this task, we developed a new method based on the massive parallel sequencing capability of next generation sequencing (NGS) coupled with hybridization capture. We focused on the mitochondrial marker cytochrome oxidase I (COI). The results obtained using the new method were compared with individual larval sequencing. We validated the ability of the method to identify Amazonian catfish larvae at the species level and to estimate the relative abundance of species in batches of larvae. Finally, we applied the method and provided evidence for strong temporal variation in reproductive activity of catfish species in the Ucayali River in the Peruvian Amazon. This new time and cost effective method enables the acquisition of large datasets, paving the way for a finer understanding of reproductive dynamics and recruitment patterns of tropical fish species, with major implications for fisheries management and conservation.

BOREA Contacts : Jean-François Renno,  IRD Research director, jean-francois.renno@ird.fr and  Fabrice Duponchelle,  IRD Researcher, fabrice.duponchelle@ird.fr

From egg to larva and alevin, DNA metabarcoding allows  specific and massive identification in Amazonian ichthyoplankton swarms. © Mileniusz Spanowicz - WCS  except  photo 4 (low, right) : Carmen Garcia Davila IIAP.

Connexion utilisateur

DNA Metabarcoding of Amazonian Ichthyoplankton Swarms

9 mar 2017
Article à la Une
Jeudi, Avril 6, 2017 - 08:00
Isabelle MOUAS

DNA Metabarcoding of Amazonian Ichthyoplankton Swarms. M. E. Maggia, Y. Vigouroux, J. F. Renno, F. Duponchelle, E. Desmarais, J. Nunez, C. Garcia-Davila, F. M. Carvajal-Vallejos, E. Paradis, J. F. Martin, C. Mariac (2017).
PLoS ONE 12(1): e0170009. doi:10.1371/  journal.pone.0170009

La forêt tropicale présente une extraordinaire biodiversité. Le bassin de l’Amazone hébergerait 30% de toutes des espèces de poissons de rivière du monde. Les informations sur l’écologie, la reproduction et le recrutement de la plupart de ses espèces sont encore manquantes, handicapant ainsi la gestion de la pêche et le succès des stratégies de conservation. L’une des clés de la compréhension de l’étude de la dynamique des populations est le recrutement des stades larvaires. Cependant, l’écologie des larves dans les biomes tropicaux est encore dans ses prémices à cause des difficultés d’identification des larves.

Les techniques moléculaires sont des outils très prometteurs pour l’identification des larves au niveau de l’espèce. Pour faciliter cette tâche, nous avons développé une nouvelle méthode basée sur les capacités de séquençage parallèle massif de NGS, couplé à la capture par hybridation. Nous nous sommes concentrés sur le marqueur mitochondrial cytochrome oxidase I (COI). Les résultats obtenus en utilisant la nouvelle méthode ont été comparés avec le séquençage individuel des larves. Nous avons ainsi validé la capacité de la nouvelle méthode dans l’identification des larves de poissons chats amazoniens au niveau de l’espèce et estimé l’abondance relative des espèces dans des lots de larves. Enfin,  nous avons appliqué cette méthode et mis en évidence une forte variation temporelle de l’activité de reproduction des espèces de poissons chats dans la rivière de l’Ucayali en Amazonie péruvienne. Cette méthode à fort rendement permet d’acquérir une grande quantité de données, ouvrant la voie à une compréhension plus fine de la dynamique de la reproduction et des patrons de recrutement des espèces de poissons tropicaux, avec des implications majeures dans la gestion des pêches et dans la conservation.

Contacts BOREA : Jean-François Renno, directeur de recherche IRD, jean-francois.renno@ird.fr et Fabrice Duponchelle, chargé de recherche IRD, fabrice.duponchelle@ird.fr

De l'oeuf à la larve et l'alevin, le "DNA metabarcoding" permet l'identification spécifique et massive dans les essaims d'ichtyoplancton. © Mileniusz Spanowicz - WCS  sauf photo 4 (bas, droite) ©  Carmen Garcia Davila IIAP.