User login

BONADÈ Morgane

Statut: 
PhD student
Team: 
Team 2: Reproduction and development of aquatic organisms: evolution, adaptation, regulations
Supervisor: 
Laure Bonnaud-Ponticelli
Contract duration: 
1 Oct 2017 to 30 Sep 2020
Localisation: 
MNHN
Doctoral fellowship: 
ED 227
Funding: 
MNHN
Research topics: 

Title:
Approche qualitative et quantitative de la neurogenèse au cours du cycle de vie de la seiche Sepia officinalis et influence de la lumière 

English summary:

This project focuses on neurogenesis dynamics in relation to environmental conditions in the cuttlefish Sepia officinalis using an « eco-evo-devo » perspective. The central nervous system and the dopaminergic system will be studied both during embryogenesis and growth to find out whether there is a relation between neurogenesis and acquisition of cognitive abilities at different steps of biological cycle.

During both embryogenic development and growth, neurogenesis allows organisms to increase their performances. The dopaminergic system controls sensorial, cognitive (learning and memorization) and motor (locomotion, nutrition) abilities. It also plays a role in the perception of environment. Cephalopods show a peculiar organization of their central nervous system in relation with various neurotransmitters (catecholamine and others) and unique cognitive capabilities among Lophotrochozoans. Studying the differentiation of dopaminergic neurons (enzymes involved in synthesis and receptors) will allow to link it with acquisition of complex behaviour during development and to assess the impact of environmental cues on neurogenesis and differentiation. Among many external factors we wish to test the influence of light. Indeed, during embryogenesis, Sepia officinalis eggs are found in the intertidal zone where they are exposed to important variation of light. The eggs are surrounded by a dark capsule that slims down leading to increase the amount of light that reaches the embryos during development. We hypothesise that light plays an important role in the maturation of the cognitive systems at the end of embryogenesis but not at early embryonic stages (protected by the opaque capsule). Experiments have been carried out to assess the impact of different photoperiods on qualitative and quantitative expression of target genes.

The results will give better insight on the evolution of genes and physiologic functions linked to the dopaminergic system in Metazoans. It will also bring a better understanding of evolutionnary plasticity and developmental neurogenesis in response to an environmental factor, the light.

Connexion utilisateur

BONADÈ Morgane

Statut: 
Doctorant.e
Equipe: 
Equipe 2 : Reproduction et Développement des Organismes Aquatiques : Evolution, Adaptation et Régulations
Responsable: 
Laure Bonnaud-Ponticelli
Contrat (dates): 
1 oct 2017 - 30 sep 2020
Localisation: 
MNHN
Ecole doctorale: 
ED 227
Financement: 
MNHN
Thèmes de recherche: 

Titre de la thèse :
Approche qualitative et quantitative de la neurogenèse au cours du cycle de vie de la seiche Sepia officinalis et influence de la lumière 

Résumé du sujet de thèse :

Le projet de recherche proposé porte sur la dynamique de la neurogenèse en lien avec les conditions environnementales chez la seiche, Sepia officinalis dans une perspective « éco-évo-dévo ». Il s’agira d’étudier le système nerveux central et le système dopaminergique au cours de l’embryogenèse et de la croissance pour tester l’hypothèse d’une relation entre la neurogenèse et l’acquisition des capacités cognitives à différentes étapes du cycle biologique.

Le processus de neurogenèse pendant le développement et la croissance donne aux organismes la capacité d’augmenter leurs performances. Le système dopaminergique médie les capacités sensorielles, cognitives (apprentissage et mémorisation) et perception de l’environnement mais aussi motrices (locomotion, nutrition). Les céphalopodes montrent une organisation du système nerveux central, un système de neuromédiateurs associés (catécholamines entre autres) et des capacités cognitives uniques au sein des Lophotrochozoaires. L’étude de la différenciation fonctionnelle des neurones dopaminergiques (enzymes de synthèse et récepteurs) permettra d’établir un lien avec l’acquisition d’un comportement complexe au cours du développement et d’évaluer l’impact des inducteurs environnementaux de la neurogenèse et de la différenciation. Parmi les facteurs externes nous souhaitons tester l’hypothèse de l’influence de la lumière. En effet, au cours de l’embryogenèse, les œufs de Sepia officinalis pondus dans la zone intertidale, sont soumis à de fortes variations de lumière : les œufs sont entourés par une capsule noire, qui s’amincit au cours du développement laissant passer une quantité croissante de lumière atteignant l’embryon. L’hypothèse à tester est que la lumière a un rôle important positif pour la maturation des systèmes cognitifs en fin d’embryogenèse mais pas sur l’embryon précoce (qui en est protégé). Des expérimentations sont menées à différentes photopériodes pour évaluer l’impact sur l’expression qualitative et quantitative des gènes impliqués.

Les résultats permettront d’élaborer des hypothèses chez les métazoaires sur l’évolution des gènes, des systèmes et des fonctions physiologiques liées au système dopaminergique ainsi que sur la plasticité évolutive et développementale de la neurogenèse en réponse au facteur environnemental, la lumière.