User login

DAVID Frank

Statut: 
Post-doc
Team: 
Team 6: Source and transfer of organic matter in aquatic ecosystems
Contract duration: 
1 Apr 2019 to 31 Aug 2019
Localisation: 
MNHN Station de Concarneau
Funding: 
crédits FEAMP
Research topics: 

 

PhD from 01/10/2014 to 30/08/2019

Title: Impact of shrimp farming on food webs of the Can Gio Mangrove (South Vietnam): tracing using molecular tools and effects on carbon fluxes.

Mangroves are highly valuable ecosystems providing coastal protection, locally available food, biofiltration of organic compounds and carbon storage, among other ecosystem services. The Can Gio mangrove has been totally replanted from 1975, after its complete destruction during Vietnam War. It extends over an area of 70 000 ha, of which 40 000 ha are covered with forests (20% of the total area of mangroves in Vietnam) and 30 000 ha are dedicated to shrimp farming. The core zone, representing 5 000 ha, has been classified as biosphere reserve by UNESCO in 2000. However, the mangrove is fueled by the Nhà Bè estuary, which is draining the biggest city of the country, Ho Chi Minh (8 million inhabitants), and receiving effluents from the intense shrimp farming activity.

The objective of my PhD is to understand the origin and fate of organic matter in trophic webs of Can Gio mangrove. Two sampling campaigns were realized, one in January-February 2015 and the other in September-October 2015. Four sites were monitored during 24 h periods to obtain series of estuary’s data along a continuous salinity gradient. In addition to classical physico-chemical parameters, such as pH, salinity, etc., infra red gas analyzers were employed to measure CO2, and water was sampled every two hour, allowing the recollection of 1600 GF/F filters and 700 water samples. These samples will be processed in part in New Caledonia, in Vietnam, in the United States and in France. They will be used to quantify all forms of carbon in the estuary, C & N isotopic ratios of particulate organic matter, fatty acid composition of particulate organic matter and potential prokaryotic activity. Moreover, organisms were picked along the banks to evaluate transfers in trophic webs.

My PhD contract goes along with a teaching mission, divided equally between statistical courses (Master degree level) and workshops on faunal diversity in ponds (first year of secondary school).

More broadly, my research theme aims to understand trophic relationships in food webs and use this knowledge to develop sustainable aquaculture practices, such as Aquaponics or Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA).

Works related to my PhD:

Oral communication:

David F., Taillardat P., Marchand C., Molnar N. and Meziane T. Mangrove ecosystems and shrimp farming interactions along tropical coastlines; a physical and chemical assessment, Triennal Aquaculture 2016, 22-26 February 2016.

Poster presentation:

David F., Taillardat P., Marchand C., Molnar N. and Meziane T. How is shrimp farming impacting mangrove ecosystems in the Indo-Pacific? Triennal Aquaculture 2016, 22-26 February 2016. Available here.

Video communication:

David F., Signore M. and Meziane T., 2015. Extraction des acides gras d'échantillons organiques. Available here.

Previous works:

Articles:

David F. and Boonsoong B., 2014. Colonisation of leaf litter by lotic macroinvertebrates in a headwater stream of the Phachi River (western Thailand). Fundamental and Applied Limnology/Archiv für Hydrobiologie 184, 109–124. Available here.

Gilles S., Ismiño R., Sánchez H., David F., Núñez J., Dugué R., Darias M.J. and Römer U., 2014. An integrated closed system for fish-plankton aquaculture in Amazonian fresh water. Animal 8, 1319–1328. Available here.

Connexion utilisateur

DAVID Frank

Statut: 
Doctorant.e
Equipe: 
Equipe 6 : Source et Transfert de la Matière Organique en Milieu Aquatique
Responsable: 
T. Meziane
Contrat (dates): 
1 oct 2014 - 30 sep 2017
Localisation: 
MNHN Paris
Ecole doctorale: 
227 MNHN
Financement: 
Ministère MNHN
Thèmes de recherche: 

Intitulé du sujet : Impact de la crevetticulture sur les réseaux trophiques de la mangrove de Can Gio (sud Vietnam) : traçage à l’aide d’outils moléculaires et conséquences sur le flux de carbone.

Les mangroves sont des écosystèmes qui fournissent d’importants services écosystémiques.  Parmi ceux-ci, la protection des côtes, des ressources alimentaires de proximité, la biofiltration de composés organiques et le stockage de carbone. La mangrove de Can Gio a été totalement replantée à partir de 1975, à la suite de sa destruction totale pendant la guerre de Vietnam. Elle s’étend sur une superficie de 70 000 ha, dont 40 000 sont couverts sont boisés (20% de la superficie totale des mangroves du Vietnam) et 30 000 ha sont dédiés à la crevetticulture. La cœur central, représentant 5 000 ha, a été classé réserve de biosphère par l’UNESCO en 2000. Cependant, la mangrove est nourrie par l’estuaire de fleuve Nhà Bè, qui traverse la plus grande ville du pays, Ho Chi Minh (8 millions d’habitants) et recueille les eaux résiduelles de l’intense activité crevetticole.

L’objectif de mon doctorat est de comprendre l’origine et le devenir de la matière organique dans le réseau trophique de la mangrove de Can Gio. Deux campagnes d’échantillonnage ont été réalisées, l’une en Janvier-Février 2015 et l’autre en Septembre-Octobre 2015. Quatre sites ont été suivies sur des périodes de 24h afin d’obtenir des séries de données sur l’estuaire selon un gradient continu de salinité. En plus des mesures physico-chimiques classiques de pH, salinité, etc., des analyseur infra-rouges ont été utilisés pour mesurer le CO2 et de l’eau a été prélevée toutes les deux heures. Au total, 1600 filtres GF/F ont pu être récoltés ainsi que 700 échantillons d’eau. Ces échantillons seront analysés en partie en Nouvelle Calédonie, au Vietnam, aux Etats Unis et en France. Ils permettront de quantifier toutes les formes du carbone présent dans l’estuaire, les ratios isotopiques du C & N dans la matière organique particulaire, la composition en acides gras de la matière organique particulaire et l’activité potentielle de dégradation des procaryotes. De plus, des organismes ont été récoltés le long des berges pour évaluer les transferts dans le réseau trophique.

Enfin, mon contrat de thèse s’accompagne d’une mission doctorale divisée en parts égales entre des enseignements de statistiques (niveau M1) et des ateliers de sensibilisation à la diversité du vivant dans les mares (niveau 6ème).

Plus largement, l’objectif de mes travaux de recherche est de comprendre les transferts dans les réseaux trophiques et d’utiliser ces connaissances pour développer des pratiques d’aquaculture durable, telles que l’Aquaponie ou les systèmes d’Aquaculture Intégrée Multi-Trophique (AIMT).

Travaux en lien avec mon doctorat :

Communication orale :

David F., Taillardat P., Marchand C., Molnar N. and Meziane T. Mangrove ecosystems and shrimp farming interactions along tropical coastlines; a physical and chemical assessment, Triennal Aquaculture 2016, 22-26 Février 2016.

Présentation de poster :

David F., Taillardat P., Marchand C., Molnar N. and Meziane T. How is shrimp farming impacting mangrove ecosystems in the Indo-Pacific?, Triennal Aquaculture 2016, 22-26 Février 2016. Disponible ici.

Communication vidéo :

David F., Signore M. and Meziane T., 2015. Extraction des acides gras d'échantillons organiques. Disponible ici.

Travaux précédents :

Articles :

David F. and Boonsoong B., 2014. Colonisation of leaf litter by lotic macroinvertebrates in a headwater stream of the Phachi River (western Thailand). Fundamental and Applied Limnology/Archiv für Hydrobiologie 184, 109–124. Disponible ici.

Gilles S., Ismiño R., Sánchez H., David F., Núñez J., Dugué R., Darias M.J. and Römer U., 2014. An integrated closed system for fish-plankton aquaculture in Amazonian fresh water. Animal 8, 1319–1328. Disponible ici.