User login

PRIVARC

PRIVARC Plasticité du recrutement des bivalves Arctiques

Team 6: Source and transfer of organic matter in aquatic ecosystems
2016 to 2017
Program type: 
International

In polar regions submitted to climate change, the processes structuring the benthic compartment act at a regional scale and involve the ‘match-mismatch’ hypothesis between dynamics of primary production and meroplankton.

The objective of the PRIVARC project is to use the huge plasticity of peri-métamorphorphic stages of marine bivalves, whose larvae can delay their metamorphosis in the absence of positive stimulus, to quantify anthropogenic impacts on the renewal of invertebrates’ populations and by cascade on the functioning of Arctic benthic ecosystems.

The proposed approach involves the analysis of delays of metamorphosis by shell measurements (lengths of prodissonconchs I / II) and of the physiological status of recruits of dominant species from a high arctic Greenland fjord by the fatty acid trophic marker methods.

Project coordinator:
Frédéric Olivier, MNHN professor, BOREA Research Unit

Partners:
IPEV
University of Aarhus (Denmark)
UQAR/ISMER (Canada)


Prodissoconque II d'une Coquille de bivalve de Hiatella arctica récoltée au mois de mai 2017.

Connexion utilisateur

PRIVARC

PRIVARC Plasticité du recrutement des bivalves Arctiques

Equipe 6 : Source et Transfert de la Matière Organique en Milieu Aquatique
2016 - 2017
Type de programme: 
International

En milieu polaire, les processus structurant le compartiment benthique sous contraintes climatiques agissent à une échelle régionale et mettent en jeu une désynchronisation (‘match-mismatch’) entre dynamiques de la production primaire et du méroplancton.

L’objectif du projet PRIVARC est d’utiliser l’extraordinaire plasticité de la phase métamorphorphique des bivalves marins, dont les larves peuvent retarder très longuement leur métamorphose en l’absence de stimulus positif, pour quantifier les effets anthropiques sur le renouvellement des populations d’invertébrés et par cascade sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes benthiques arctiques.

La démarche proposée implique l’analyse des retards de métamorphoses par des mesures coquillières (longueurs des prodissonconques I/II) et de l’état physiologique des recrues d’espèces dominantes d’un fjord du haut arctique groenlandais par la méthode des acides gras marqueurs.

Coordinateur du projet :
Frédéric Olivier, professeur MNHN, UMR BOREA

Partenaires :
IPEV
Université d’Aarhus (Danemark)
UQAR/ISMER (Canada)


Prodissoconque II d'une coquille de bivalve de Hiatella arctica récoltée au mois de mai 2017.