User login

SPONTOX

SPONge TOXicity

Team 1: Evolution of Biomineralizations and Adaptations to Environmental Constraints
2013 to 2014
Program type: 
National/Regional

The SPONTOX project suggests to use sponge model as sentinels to the networks of seawater quality monitoring of the littoral environment. Indeed, sponges occur a large part of the qualities required for a bioindicator of pollution. After analyses of contaminant levels, one of the species, Hymeciadon perlevis, revealed best capacity of bioaccumulation.

The Spontox program covers several steps:

1- The geolocation of the sponge colonies on several seacoast stations along the area of Basse-Normandie. This work will suppose a strategy of systematic taking and identification of toweling. Then, various parameters of the sponge populations (density, diversity, dominance …) were also estimated. After the identification chemical analyses of the different species, the sponge chosen as model was Hymeniacidon perlevis.

2- A development of in vitro spongiculture in the SMEL structures of Blainville-sur-Mer.

3- Experiments on sponges exposed in vitro to various contaminations realized in controlled conditions (metals and organic contaminants). Nature of contaminants as well as ranges of concentrations were depended on measures performed on wild populations collected in situ from the various stations of Basse-Normandie. On the other hand, contaminations were monitored in situ by the method of caging which was developed. The tests of ecotoxicology led in vitro and the caging will concern in parallel the sponge Hymeniacidon perlevis and the mussel Mytilus edulis, the bioindicator already used into the networks of quality surveillance of the environment through the ROCCH network.

Funding
Région Basse-Normandie, AESN, CG 50

Project coordinator
Smel (Blainville sur Mer, 50) 

Partners
Smel (Blainville sur Mer, 50) ; Cnam/Intechmer (Cherbourg, 50) ; Labéo 50 (St Lô , 50)

Connexion utilisateur

SPONTOX

SPONge TOXicity

Equipe 1 : Evolution des Biominéralisations et Adaptations aux Contraintes Environnementales
2013 - 2014
Type de programme: 
National/Régional

Le projet SPONTOX propose d’intégrer les éponges en tant qu’espèces sentinelles aux réseaux de surveillance du milieu littoral car les éponges rassemblent une très grande part des qualités exigées pour un bioindicateur de pollution.

Le programme s’articule en plusieurs étapes :

1- La géolocalisation des colonies de spongiaires sur plusieurs stations des côtes de la région Basse Normandie. Ce travail supposera une stratégie de prélèvement systématique et d’identification des éponges. Ainsi différents paramètres de ces populations d’éponges (densité, diversité, dominance…) ont pu être également estimés. Après identification et analyse des teneurs en contaminants, il s’est avéré que l’espèce Hymeciadon perlevis présentait la meilleure capacité de bioaccumulation.

2- Un développement de spongiculture in vitro au SMEL (syndicat mixte de l’équipement du littoral) de Blainville sur Mer en s’appuyant sur les expériences antérieures de ce laboratoire.

3- Des expérimentations de contaminations in vitro des éponges seront réalisés en conditions contrôlées (métaux et contaminants organiques). Les contaminants retenus pour ces tests ainsi que les gammes de concentration dépendront des mesures effectuées sur les espèces sauvages prélevées in situ sur les différentes stations de Basse-Normandie retenues pour l’étude. D’autre part, des contaminations in situ par la méthode de caging seront développées.  Les tests d’écotoxicologie menés in vitro et le caging porteront en parallèle l’éponge Hymeniacidon perlevis et la moule Mytilus edulis, bioindicateur connu et déjà intégré dans les réseaux de surveillance de la qualité du milieu (ROCCH) afin de comparer les deux modèles biologiques. 

Financement
Région Basse-Normandie, AESN, CG 50

Coordinateur du projet 
Smel (Blainville sur Mer, 50) 

Partenaires
Smel (Blainville sur Mer, 50) ; Cnam/Intechmer (Cherbourg, 50) ; Labéo 50 (St Lô , 50)