User login

Anne-Marie RUSIG

Anne-Marie RUSIG's picture

Position

Assistant professor

Affiliation

Université de CAEN Normandie (UCN)

Email

anne-marie.rusig@unicaen.fr

Phone

+33 2 31 56 65 79

Fax

+33 2 31 56 53 60

Localisation

Université de Caen Normandie (UCN)

Team

Team 5: Diversity and interactions in coastal ecosystems
Palmaria palmata Protoplastes

Research topics

Through the various research programs, the studies which I conduct on seaweeds are declined according to three levels: the coastal ecosystem, the communities and the organism respectively providing knowledge on the functioning of ecosystems and the impacts of the anthropic activities, on the dynamics of macroalgae, on the ecophysiology, on algal morphogenesis, and also algal molecules. Two main axes are developed:

  • Biotechnologies of marine macroalgae : in vitro micropropagation, ecophysiology and phycoculture. I develop cultivation systems of macroalgae (Phaeophyceae, Rhodophycaea, Ulvophyceae) that have an economic interest to produce algal biomass which constitutes a raw material quality and which allows the preservation of natural resources. The choice of strategy of culture for each algal species is based on knowledge of its morphological and ecophysiological characteristics and on the elaboration of systems of in vitro multiplication either by exploiting cycle of algae, either by producing in vitro artificial seeds (protoplasts, neoformations, somatic embryos). In the objective to the application of the micropropagation to the phycoculture, the conception of an experimental “hatchery” for the culture of seaweed species with identified commercial potential allows the ongrowing , the transfer and the establishment of the plantlets produced in vitro on long-lines at sea or on shellfish structures (Regional research program NORMAND’ALG).
  • Dynamics of seaweeds: Quantitative and qualitative studies of benthic seaweed communities in the Channel. Tools of evaluation for the quality of coastal waters: My expertise in identification of species of seaweeds (as well on the ground at the laboratory) allows me to study the species diversity and structure of populations of intertidal marine macroalgae in some sectors of the Lower-Normandy coats to determine the ecological status of algal species communities and their evolution (ZNIEFF-MER, REBENT-DCE-Manche, PROUESSE RECIF).

The regional problem of mass stranding of seaweeds led me to develop an environmental theme on the use of macroalgae as bioindicators of the quality of marine environment. Because of the symptoms of the impact of human activities in the coastal marine environment and in particular of nitrogen inputs, I try to use seaweeds as a tool to assess the quality of coastal waters in order to understand the genesis of accumulations summer affecting some coastal areas, the monitoring of the isotopic signatures (δ15N) in algae allowing to identify the origin of the anthropisation on the coastal ecosystem (urban/agricultural) and to map the sensitive coastal areas. Ultimately this research program could be used as a support of biomonitoring in order to define and set up a system of evaluation of the littoral quality of coastal waters by seaweeds in Lower-Normandy.

Keywords: seaweeds, plant biotechnologies, in vitro culture, ecophysiology, benthic seaweed communities, bioindication, quality of coastal water, (δ15N).

„Co-director of thesis of Stéphanie Lemesle. Bioindicators of the marine environment. Use of the macroalgae like a tool for evaluation of the biological quality of coastal waters. Answer to problems of massive beachings seaweeds

„Coordinator UCBN for the region research program (2012-2015) : Initiative and partnership synergy for development of innovative and sustainable practices in answer to the needs for the professionals. Agriculture and marine resources. Development of phycoculture as part of the diversification of the shellfish farming. (NORMAND' ALG)

Teaching

My teaching activities are carried out to IBFA (Institute of Fundamental and Applied Biology) and ESIX (College of Engineers Food) of UCBN.

Licence 1 - U.E. Plant Biology and Mycology

„Licence 2 - U.E Introduction to Marine Biology

„Licence 3 - U.E Evolutionary Plant Biology / U.E.Plant Biology

„Master AQUACAEN 

  • Master 1- U.E Ecosystems coasts / U.E Ecosystems and coastal environments / U.E Methodology: physiology of the marine organisms / U.E B biology of the development of the aquatic organisms.
  • Master 2 applied AQUACAEN/ Master 2 research AQUACAEN- U.E. Quality and applications of seaweeds / U.E. Exploitation of shellfish species and seaweeds / U.E. Coastal ecosystems-trophic network.

„Master ECOBIOVALO - Master 1- U.E. Plant Polymers and Their Applications / Master 2- U.E. Glycology Phycology Ecophysiology

„Master 2 ALIBIOCAEN - U.E. Food Quality

„Master 1 SVT - U.E. Microbiology Physiology Plant Biology

„ESIX – U.E. Use of algae in the food

„Person in charge of teaching credits of Licence of Plant Biology and Cell Biology

„Director scientific of projects of Master 2 AQUACAEN (Alexandre Erraud, Emilie Gouhier, Mabel Lestarquit, 2013-2014)

Administrative responsibilities

„Person in charge of directed works and practical works of the Licence 3 : U.E. Plant Biology and U.E. Plant Biology and Evolutionary Plant Biology

„Member of the steering committee of Licence (2010-2014) of Master 2 Aquacaen (2012-2015).

„Member of the steering committee of thesis of Trang NGuyen - University of Nantes

„Member of Regional Scientific Council of the Natural Heritage of Lower-Normandy since 2007.

Expertise and Valorization

Referee pour la revue Journal of Applied Phycology

„Expert seaweeds for Regional Scientific Council of the Natural Heritage of Lower-Normandy 

„International Foundation for Science (IFS): expertise of projects and research grants

„Regional council of Brittany : expertise of research projects

„Expertise for the national police force

Publications

Displaying 1 - 3 of 11

Connexion utilisateur

Anne-Marie RUSIG

Portrait de Anne-Marie RUSIG

Statut

Maître de Conférences

Affiliation

Université de CAEN Normandie

Courriel

anne-marie.rusig@unicaen.fr

Téléphone

+33 2 31 56 65 79

Fax

+33 2 31 56 53 60

Localisation

Université de Caen Normandie (UCN)

Equipe

Equipe 5 : Diversité et Interactions dans les Ecosystèmes Côtiers
Protoplastes de Palmaria palmata

Thèmes de recherche

Au travers des différents programmes de recherche, les études que je mène sur les algues marines benthiques sont déclinées selon trois niveaux : l’écosystème côtier, les communautés et l’organisme apportant respectivement des connaissances sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et les impacts des activités anthropiques, sur la dynamique des macroalgues, sur l’écophysiologie, sur la morphogenèse algale et aussi sur des molécules algales d’intérêt. Deux axes principaux sont développés :

  • Les biotechnologies des macroalgues marines :  micropropagation in vitro, écophysiologie et phycoculture: Je développe des systèmes de cultures de macroalgues appartenant aux trois classes (Phéophycées, Rhodophycées, Ulvophycées) d'intérêt économique en vue de production de biomasses algales constituant une matière première de qualité et permettant la préservation des ressources naturelles. Le choix de la stratégie de culture pour chaque espèce algale repose sur la connaissance de ses caractéristiques morphologiques et écophysiologiques et sur l’élaboration de systèmes de multiplication in vitro soit en exploitant le cycle de l’algue, soit en produisant in vitro des semences artificielles (protoplastes, néoformations, embryons somatiques). Dans l’objectif de l’application de la micropropagation à la phycoculture, la conception d’une « écloserie » expérimentale pour la culture de macroalgues possédant un intérêt commercial permet le grossissement, le transfert et l’implantation des plantules obtenues in vitro sur des filières en mer ou sur des structures conchylicoles (Programme de Recherche Région NORMAND’ALG).
  • Dynamique des macroalgues : Etudes quantitatives et qualitatives des phytocénoses benthiques en Manche, Outils d’évaluation de la qualité des eaux côtières : Mon expertise dans le domaine de l’identification des espèces de macroalgues (tant sur le terrain qu’au laboratoire) me permet de réaliser des études et des suivis sur la diversité spécifique et la structuration des peuplements de macroalgues marines des zones intertidales de certains secteurs de la côte bas-normande dans le cadre de différents programmes visant à déterminer l’état écologique des biocénoses algales et l’évolution des peuplements (ZNIEFF-MER, REBENT-DCE-Manche, PROUESSE, RECIF).

La problématique régionale d’échouages massifs d’algues m’a conduit à développer un volet environnemental sur l’utilisation des macroalgues comme bioindicateurs de la qualité du milieu marin. Symptômes de l’anthropisation du milieu marin côtier et en particulier des apports azotés, je cherche à utiliser les macroalgues comme outil d’évaluation de qualité des eaux côtières dans l’objectif de comprendre la genèse des accumulations estivales touchant certaines zones du littoral bas-normand, le suivi des signatures isotopiques (δ15N) chez les algues permettant d’identifier l’origine de l’anthropisation sur l’écosystème côtier (urbaine/agricole) et de cartographier les zones sensibles du littoral. A terme ce programme de recherche pourra servir comme support de biosurveillance pour définir et mettre en place un système d’évaluation de la qualité des eaux littorales de la Basse‐Normandie par les macroalgues.

Mots clés : algues marines benthiques, biotechnologies végétales, culture in vitro, écophysiologie, phytocénoses benthiques, phycoculture, bioindication, qualité des eaux côtières, signatures isotopiques δ15N

Co-encadrante scientifique de la thèse de Stéphanie Lemesle - « Bioindicateurs du milieu marin: Utilisation des macroalgues comme outil d’évaluation de la qualité biologique des eaux côtières. Réponse à une problématique d’échouages massifs d’algues » (2011-2014)

Coordinateur UCBN du Programme de Recherche Région (2012-2015) : Initiative et synergie partenariale pour le développement de pratiques novatrices et durables en réponse aux besoins des professionnels. Agriculture et ressources marines Développement de la phycoculture dans le cadre de la diversification des activités conchylicoles (NORMAND’ALG)

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

Mes activités d’enseignement (Cours magistraux, TD et TP) sont réalisées à l’IBFA (Institut de Biologie Fondamentale et Appliquée) et à l’ESIX (Ecole Supérieure d’Ingénieurs Agro-alimentaire) de l’UCBN.

Licence 1 - U.E. Biologie végétale et mycologie

Licence 2 - U.E Introduction à la biologie marine

Licence 3 - U.E Biologie végétale évolutive / U.E Biologie végétale

Master AQUACAEN

  • Master 1- U.E Ecosystèmes littoraux / U.E Ecosystèmes et environnements littoraux (étude terrain)/ U.E Méthodologie : physiologie des organismes marins/ U.E Biologie du développement des organismes aquatiques.
  • Master 2 professionnalisé AQUACAEN/ Master 2 recherche AQUACAEN- U.E. Qualité et valorisation des macroalgues marines/ U.E. Exploitation des espèces conchylicoles et algales/ U.E. Ecosystèmes côtiers- réseaux trophiques.

Master ECOBIOVALO - Master 1- U.E. Polymères végétaux et leurs applications/ Master 2- U.E. Glycologie Phycologie Ecophysiologie

Master 2 ALIBIOCAEN - U.E. Qualité des aliments

Master 1 SVT - U.E. Biologie physiologie végétale microbiologie

ESIX – U.E. Utilisation des algues dans l’alimentation.

Responsable des crédits d’enseignements des licences de Biologie végétale et Biologie cellulaire

Encadrante scientifique des projets Master 2 Aquacaen (Alexandre Erraud, Emilie Gouhier, Mabel Lestarquit, 2013-2014)

Responsabilités administratives

Responsable des travaux dirigés et travaux pratiques de la licence 3 :U.E. Biologie végétale et U.E. Biologie végétale évolutive

Membre du comité de pilotage de la Licence (2010-2014) et du Master 2 Aquacaen (2012-2015).

Membre du comité de pilotage de thèse de Trang NGuyen -Université de Nantes-

Membre de Conseil Scientifique Régional du Patrimoine Naturel de Basse-Normandie depuis 2007.

Expertise et Valorisation

Referee pour la revue Journal of Applied Phycology

Expert macroalgues pour le Conseil Scientifique Régional du Patrimoine Naturel de Basse-Normandie

International Foundation for Science (IFS): expertise de projets et de bourses de recherches

Conseil Régional de Bretagne : expertise de projets de recherche

Expertise pour la police nationale

Publications

Displaying 1 - 3 of 11