User login

Clara LORD

Clara LORD's picture

Position

Assistant professor

Affiliation

Sorbonne Université (SU)

Email

claralord@mnhn.fr

Phone

+33 1 40 79 37 35

Fax

+33 1 40 79 37 71

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Team

Team 4: Larval dispersal and communities organization in austral and tropical island systems

Curriculum Vitae

Research topics

I work on goby species belonging to the Sicydiinae subfamily, which have developed particular life traits adapted to the colonisation of tropical island freshwater ecosystems. Indeed, rivers in tropical islands are colonised by species for which the life cycle is adapted to the extreme conditions found is these young environments, poor in nutrients and subject to strong climatic and hydrological variations. These species have developed an amphidromous life cycle: they reproduce in freshwater. Larvae hatch in the river and reach the sea where they undergo a marine phase. This phase is important in terms of the dispersal of the species and the duration of this pelagic larval life varies according to the species. Post-larvae recruit back to rivers where they metamorphose into juveniles, grow and reproduce. Sicydiinae gobies represent most of the insular freshwater biodiversity and have the highest level of endemism.

I use various tools to study Sicydiinae gobies. I work on larval traits by analysing the microstructure and the elemental composition of otoliths. Phylogeography also bring insights into the dispersal capacity of these species shedding light on the population structure of each species. Finally, I work on the diversification of Sicydiinae by using molecular phylogenies.

Teaching

I am an assistant professor in the UMR Borea and I teach at the University Pierre et Marie Curie. I teach animal biology for first, second and third years. I also work with groups of first and second year students to help them with their orientation and professional integration.

Connexion utilisateur

Clara LORD

Portrait de Clara LORD

Statut

Maître de Conférences

Affiliation

Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)

Courriel

claralord@mnhn.fr

Téléphone

+33 1 40 79 37 35

Fax

+33 1 40 79 37 71

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Equipe

Equipe 4 : Dispersion Larvaire et Organisation en Milieu Austral et Insulaire Tropical

Curriculum Vitae

Thèmes de recherche

Mes recherches portent sur des espèces de Gobiidae, et plus particulièrement de la sous-famille des Sicydiinae, ayant développé des traits de vie particuliers adaptés à la colonisation des milieux d’eau douce insulaires tropicaux. En effet ces milieux sont colonisés par des espèces dont le cycle de vie s’est adapté aux caractéristiques particulières de ces milieux jeunes, pauvres en éléments nutritifs et soumis à de fortes variations climatiques et hydrologiques. Ces espèces ont développé un cycle de vie amphidrome : elles pondent en eau douce et les larves dévalent les rivières pour atteindre la mer. Après une phase dispersive marine de durée variable selon les espèces, les post-larves retournent en rivière où elles grandissent et se reproduisent. Ces espèces constituent la biodiversité la plus importante des systèmes insulaires ainsi que le taux d’endémisme le plus élevé.

J’aborde l’étude des Sicydiinae à l’aide d’outils diversifiés. En effet, je travaille sur les traits de vie larvaires grâce à la microanalyse chimique et à l’analyse microstructurale des otolithes. La phylogéographie apporte aussi des éléments sur la capacité de dispersion des larves en mettant en lumière les échanges entre populations. Enfin, je travaille sur la diversification de la sous-famille des Sicydiinae grâce à la phylogénie moléculaire.

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

Je suis maître de conférences en Biologie des Organismes dans l’UMR Borea et j’effectue mes enseignements à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie. J’enseigne la biologie animale en niveau licence. Je fais également partie de l’équipe enseignante investie dans l’aide à l’insertion de jeunes diplômés dans le monde du travail. J’anime donc des ateliers d’orientation et insertion professionnelle en licence.