User login

Dominique LAMY

Dominique LAMY's picture

Position

Assistant professor

Affiliation

Sorbonne Université (SU)

Email

dominique.lamy@mnhn.fr

Phone

+33 1 40 79 33 02

Fax

+33 1 40 79 31 09

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Team

Team 6: Source and transfer of organic matter in aquatic ecosystems

Research axis/workshop

Axe Microorganismes
Binational Observatory of Lake Titicaca (OBLT)

Curriculum Vitae

Filtration on Pelagia, Archimedes IV, Atlantic Ocean (Copyright © 2012 Microbial Oceanography)

Research topics

My research activities aim at understanding the role and the functional diversity of the coastal and open-ocean planktonic prokaryotes (bacteria and archaea). These microorganisms are key players in organic matter fluxes within the aquatic trophic networks. I thus use different methods to assess their biomass, their organic matter production and degradation activities, coupled to measurements of their genetic and functional community structure.

I carried out my PhD thesis at the Maison de la Recherche en Environnements Naturels (MREN) in Wimereux (France) on the bacterioplankton dynamics in the eastern English Channel and its relation with recurrent phytoplanktonic blooms. I then joined the Laboratoire d’Océanographie Microbienne (LOMIC) in Banyuls-sur-mer (France) to study the spatial and temporal dynamics of a bacterial functional group, the aerobic anoxygenic phototropic bacteria (AAP), in contrasted oligotrophic zones. I then worked at the NIOZ (Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, The Netherlands) and at the University of Vienna (Austria) where my research activities focused on the phylogenetic affiliation of North Atlantic deep-water bacterial communities, and the identification and the quantification of the most rare phylotypes. I also aimed at describing the particle-associated bacterial and archaeal groups and at assessing their potential role in the transformation and fate of these particles.

Keywords : Trophic network; Planktonic prokaryotes (Bacteria and Archaea); Biomass; organic matter production and degradation; Functional diversity

Teaching

My teaching activities take place at the University Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) on the campus of Jussieu. They mainly concern the teaching of statistics and the use of the R software (data processing) dedicated to students in Biology from License 2, L3 and Master 1. I am also involved in Marine Ecology teaching for Licence 2 students and in Microbial Ecology teaching for Master 1 and 2 students.

I am responsible for the "Statistics" part of a teaching unit for Licence 3 students from UPMC entitled "Mathematics and Statistics for Biology.

Keywords: Biostatistics; R software; Microbial ecology; Marine ecology

Publications

Connexion utilisateur

Dominique LAMY

Portrait de Dominique LAMY

Statut

Maître de Conférences

Affiliation

Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)

Courriel

dlamy@mnhn.fr

Téléphone

+33 1 40 79 33 02

Fax

+33 1 40 79 31 09

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Equipe

Equipe 6 : Source et Transfert de la Matière Organique en Milieu Aquatique

Axe/Atelier

Axe Microorganismes
Observatoire Binational du Lac Titicaca

Curriculum Vitae

Filtration on Pelagia, Archimedes IV, Atlantic Ocean (Copyright © 2012 Microbial Oceanography)

Thèmes de recherche

Mes activités de recherche visent à mieux comprendre le rôle et la diversité fonctionnelle des procaryotes planctoniques, comprenant les bactéries et les archées, en zones côtières et en océan profond. Ces micro-organismes sont des acteurs essentiels dans les transferts de matière organique au sein des réseaux trophiques aquatiques. Ainsi, j’utilise des méthodes d’estimation de leur biomasse, de leurs activités de production et de dégradation de matière organique, couplées à des mesures de la structure, génétique et fonctionnelle, de leurs communautés.

J’ai réalisé ma thèse à la Maison de la Recherche en Environnements Naturels (MREN) de Wimereux (France) sur la dynamique du bactérioplancton en Manche Orientale et ses relations avec les blooms phytoplanctoniques. J’ai ensuite rejoint le Laboratoire d’Océanographie Microbienne (LOMIC) de Banyuls-sur-mer (France) pour étudier la dynamique spatio-temporelle d’un groupe fonctionnel du bactérioplancton, les bactéries aérobies anoxygéniques phototrophes (AAP), en milieux oligotrophes contrastés. J’ai ensuite travaillé au NIOZ (Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, Pays-Bas) et à l’Université de Vienne (Autriche) où je me suis attachée à caractériser la structure phylogénétique des communautés bactériennes de l’Océan Atlantique profond, jusqu’à l’identification et la quantification des phylotypes les plus rares. Un second objectif de recherche était de caractériser les groupes de bactéries et archées fonctionnels associés aux particules marines et de déterminer leur implication potentielle dans la transformation et le devenir de ces particules.

Mots-clés : Ecologie ; Réseau trophique ; Procaryotes planctoniques (Bactéries et Archées) ; Biomasse ; Production et dégradation de matière ; Diversité fonctionnelle

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

Mes activités d’enseignement se déroulent à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) sur le campus de Jussieu. Elles concernent principalement l’enseignement des statistiques et l’utilisation du logiciel R (logiciel de traitement de données) à l’attention des étudiants biologistes de Licence 2, L3 et Master 1 de l’UPMC. J’interviens également en Licence 2 pour des enseignements en Ecologie marine et en Master 1 et 2 pour des enseignements d’Ecologie microbienne.

Je suis responsable de la partie « Statistiques » d’une Unité d’Enseignement de Licence 3 de l’UPMC intitulée « Statistiques et Mathématiques pour la Biologie ».

Mots-clés : Biostatistiques ; logiciel R ; Ecologie microbienne ; Ecologie marine

 

Publications