User login

Maria DARIAS

Maria DARIAS's picture

Position

Researcher

Affiliation

Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)

Email

maria.darias@ird.fr

Phone

+33 467 41 51 29

Team

Team 7: Biodiversity & Macroecology

Research axis/workshop

International Mixed Laboratory EDIA

Research topics

  • Morphological and functional ontogenesis of the digestive system, skeleton and skin pigmentation of fish larvae
  • Nutritional and environmental influence in molecular pathways involved in fish larval development
  • Nutrition of fish larvae and juveniles

My main area of ​​research is the study of the physiology of fish during the larval period, during which the larvae undergo dramatic morphological, metabolic and behavioral changes until their transformation into juveniles. My studies mainly focus on the development of breeding protocols adapted to the continuously changing morphological and physiological characteristics during ontogeny. In this respect, I study larval digestive physiology and nutrition at the molecular, biochemical and tissue level for developing feeds and feeding protocols adapted to digestive capacities and nutritional needs of each species.

I am very interested in how nutrients and environmental factors can influence larval morphogenesis, specially by exploring the molecular pathways that regulate the development of the digestive system, skeleton and skin pigmentation, as well as by identifying alterations in the expression of genes that could cause changes in the digestive capacities, the occurrence of skeletal deformities and changes in the pattern of skin pigmentation. I use the skeletal system as a marker for nutritional condition of specimens, the appearance of malformations denoting an inadequate feeding regime.

Working since 2012 in Iquitos (Peru) at the Instituto de Investigaciones de la Amazonia Peruana (IIAP), I develop, in collaboration with Peruvian partners and team colleagues, my research program for “Improving culture and nutrition of tropical fish species with high aquaculture and commercial potential in Amazonia” within the research theme “Domestication of new Amazonian species for sustainable fish farming” of the International Joint Laboratory “Evolution and Domestication of Amazonian Ichthyofauna” (LMI EDIA), which contributes to the diversification of tropical fish production. Among the different target species of the program, we are currently focusing on Pseudoplatystoma punctifer and Arapaima gigas.

Teaching

Since 2012: Annual 40-hour course at the National University of San Marcos (UNMSM, Lima, Peru) for postgraduate students entitled “Larval fish nutrition: development of the digestive system and nutritional needs”.

Administrative responsibilities

2012 - 2016: Responsible for the IRD research program of the International Joint Laboratory EDIA in the research station Fernando Alcántara (IIAP, Iquitos, Peru).

2012 - 2016: Elected member of the Representation Council of the IRD in Peru.

2013 - 2014: Responsible for implementation of the joint research unit ISEM in Peru.

2014 - 2016: Responsible for implementation of the joint research unit BOREA in Peru.

Connexion utilisateur

Maria DARIAS

Portrait de Maria DARIAS

Statut

Chargé.e de recherche

Affiliation

Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)

Courriel

maria.darias@ird.fr

Téléphone

+33 467 41 51 29

Localisation

IRD Montpellier

Equipe

Equipe 7 : Biodiversité et Macroécologie

Axe/Atelier

Laboratoire Mixte International EDIA

Thèmes de recherche

  • Ontogénèse morphologique et fonctionnelle du système digestif, du squelette et de la pigmentation de la peau de larves de poissons
  • Influence nutritionnelle et environnementale sur les voies moléculaires régulatrices du développement larvaire de poissons
  • Nutrition de larves et de juvéniles de poissons

Ma thématique principale de recherche est l’étude de la physiologie de poissons pendant la période larvaire, au cours de laquelle les larves subissent des changements dramatiques au niveau morphologique, métabolique et comportemental jusqu’à leur transformation en juvéniles. Mes études visent principalement le développement de protocoles d’élevage adaptés aux caractéristiques morphologiques et physiologiques changeantes au cours de l’ontogénie. En ce respect, je fais des études de physiologie digestive et de nutrition des larves au niveau moléculaire, biochimique et tissulaire permettant de développer des aliments et des protocoles alimentaires adaptés aux capacités digestives et besoins nutritionnels de chaque espèce.

Je m’intéresse fortement à l’influence des nutriments et des facteurs environnementaux dans la morphogenèse larvaire, notamment en étudiant les voies moléculaires qui régulent les processus de développement du système digestif, du squelette et de la pigmentation de la peau, ainsi qu’en identifiant des altérations dans l’expression de gènes qui peuvent entrainer une modification des capacités digestives, l’apparition de déformations squelettiques et des changements dans le motif de pigmentation de la peau. J’utilise le système squelettique comme marqueur de condition nutritionnelle des individus, l’apparition de malformations signalant une inadéquation du régime alimentaire.

Affectée depuis 2012 à Iquitos (Pérou) dans l’Instituto de Investigaciones de la Amazonía Peruana (IIAP), je développe, en collaboration avec les partenaires péruviens et les collègues de l’équipe, mon programme de recherche destiné à la « Amélioration de l’élevage et de la nutrition d’espèces de poissons tropicaux ayant un fort potentiel aquacole et commercial en Amazonie » dans l’axe de la « domestication de nouvelles espèces amazoniennes pour une pisciculture durable » du Laboratoire Mixte International « Évolution et Domestication de l’Ichtyofaune Amazonienne » (LMI EDIA), qui participe à la diversification de la production piscicole tropicale. Parmi les différentes espèces cibles du programme, nous mettons actuellement l’accent sur les espèces Pseudoplatystoma punctifer et Arapaima gigas.

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

Depuis 2012 : Cours annuel de 40 heures à l’Université Nationale Majeure de San Marcos (UNMSM, Lima, Pérou) pour des étudiants de master et de doctorat intitulé « Nutrition larvaire de poissons : développement du système digestif et besoins nutritionnelles ».

Responsabilités administratives

2012 - 2016 : Responsable IRD du programme de recherche du LMI EDIA à la station Fernando Alcántara (IIAP, Iquitos, Pérou).

2012 - 2016 : Membre élu du Conseil de Représentation de l’IRD au Pérou.

2013 - 2014 : Responsable d’implantation au Pérou pour l’UMR ISEM.

2014 - 2016 : Responsable d’implantation au Pérou pour l’UMR BOREA.