User login

Pascal SOURDAINE

Pascal SOURDAINE's picture

Position

Professor

Affiliation

Université de CAEN Normandie (UCN)

Email

pascal.sourdaine@unicaen.fr

Phone

+33 2 31 56 56 87

Fax

+ 33 2 31 56 53 46

Localisation

Université de Caen Normandie (UCN)

Team

Team 2: Reproduction and development of aquatic organisms: evolution, adaptation, regulations
Histologie testiculaire de la roussette

Research topics

Key words: Marine Mollusks -Elasmobranchs - Spermatogenesis – Sexual differentiation - Steroidogenesis - Aromatase - Spermatogonial stem cells – Cellular biology

Identification of early markers of spermatogenesis in the small spotted catshark (Scyliorhinus canicula L.).

Spermatogenesis start with the multiplication and differentiation of diploid spermatogonia and ends with the production of highly specialized haploid cells, spermatozoa. Continuous production of male gametes is dependent on the ability of spermatogonial stem cells (SSC) to renew while maintaining their stemness. This takes place within a specific microenvironment called the "niche" and involving autocrine and paracrine factors, these last ones secreted from the surrounding somatic cells. Our studies focus on the identification and functional characterization of the SSC and of the molecular players that control their self-renewal and differentiation using a Chondrichthyans model, the small spotted catshark (Scyliorhinus canicula). The identification of molecular markers is performed through proteomic and transcriptomic approaches on purified cells or testicular areas. Our studies also address the evolution of the niche of germline stem cells in Gnathostomes.

Study of sex determination in the Pacific oyster (Crassostrea gigas).

This theme is of fundamental interest for the understanding of the gonadal differentiation in the oyster during its development and the adult gametogenesis cycles. The oyster is an irregular successive protandric hermaphrodite and poor information is available about the first development of the gonads or sexual reversion occurring sometime from one cycle to another. One of our objectives is to identify conserved factors of the molecular sex determination cascade. Knowledge of an early marker will allow us to define, if present, the time-window where gonadal differentiation could be under environmental influence.

Teaching

  • Co-leader (with P. Gandolfo, University of Rouen) the degree in Biomedical Sciences, cohabilitated between the Universities of Caen and Rouen (CQD 2012-2016) and comprising 4 specialties: "Valuation of Biological Innovations" (UCBN, person in charge: E. Petit); "Imaging" (UCBN & UR, persons in charge: D.Burel, A. Manrique); "Neuroscience and behavioral sciences (UCBN & UR, persons in charge: P. Gandolfo, C. Ali); "Physiology Immunity, Differentiation, Genetics (UCBN & UR, persons in charge: A. Ouvrard-Pascaud, C. Delalande).
  • Person in charge of the teaching units "Reproduction and Development" (L2 IBFA), "Introduction to biotherapy" (M1 GIC) and "Student Professional Project" (M1 Biomedical Sciences and M1 AquaCaen).

Administrative responsibilities

  • Assistant director of the joint research unit BOREA, person in charge of the site of Caen.
  • Member of the Regional Ethics Committee on Animal Experiments (CENOMEXA).
  • Elected member of the National Council of Universities, 68th section, biology of organisms.

Connexion utilisateur

Pascal SOURDAINE

Portrait de Pascal SOURDAINE

Statut

Professeur.e

Affiliation

Université de CAEN - Basse Normandie - Institut de Biologie Fondamentale et Appliquée
Normandie Universités

Courriel

pascal.sourdaine@unicaen.fr

Téléphone

+33 2 31 56 56 87

Fax

+ 33 2 31 56 53 46

Localisation

Université de Caen Normandie (UCN)

Equipe

Equipe 2 : Reproduction et Développement des Organismes Aquatiques : Evolution, Adaptation et Régulations
Histologie testiculaire de la roussette

Thèmes de recherche

Mots clés : Mollusques marins -Elasmobranches - Spermatogenèse - Différenciation sexuelle -  Stéroïdogenèse - Aromatase -Spermatogonies souches - Biologie cellulaire.

Identification de marqueurs précoces de la spermatogenèse chez la roussette (Scyliorhinus canicula L.).

La spermatogenèse débute avec la multiplication et la différenciation de spermatogonies diploïdes et se termine par la production de cellules haploïdes hautement spécialisés, les spermatozoïdes. La production continue de gamètes mâles est conditionnée par la capacité des spermatogonies souches (SSC) à se renouveler tout en préservant leur caractère souche. Cela a lieu au sein d’un microenvironnement précis constituant la «niche » et impliquant des facteurs autocrines et paracrines, ces derniers étant sécrétés par les cellules somatiques environnantes. Nos études se focalisent sur l’identification et la caractérisation fonctionnelle des SSC et des acteurs moléculaires qui contrôlent leur autorenouvèlement et leur différenciation en utilisant un modèle Chondrichtyens, la roussette (Scyliorhinus canicula). L’identification des marqueurs moléculaires s’effectue par des approches transcriptomiques et protéomiques sur des cellules purifiées ou des zones testiculaires. Nos études permettent également d’aborder l’évolution de la niche des cellules souches germinales chez les Gnathostomes.

Etude du déterminisme du sexe de l’huître creuse (Crassostrea gigas).

Cette thématique présente un intérêt fondamental pour la compréhension de la différenciation gonadique de l’huître au cours de son développement et lors des cycles gamétogénétiques successifs de l’adulte. L’huître creuse est un hermaphrodite irrégulier de type protandre et nous disposons de  peu d’informations sur la première mise en place des gonades ou sur les réversions sexuelles parfois observables d’un cycle à l’autre. L’un de nos objectifs est l’identification de facteurs conservés de la cascade moléculaire du déterminisme sexuel. La connaissance d'un marqueur précoce nous permettra de définir, le cas échéant, la fenêtre de temps où la différenciation des gonades pourrait être sous l'influence de l'environnement.

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

  • Co-responsable (avec P. Gandolfo, Université de Rouen) du Master mention Sciences Biomédicales, cohabilité entre les universités de Caen et de Rouen (CQD 2012-2016) et regroupant 4 spécialités : « Valorisation des Innovations Biologiques » (UCBN, responsable : E. Petit) ; « Imagerie » (UCBN & UR, responsables : D. Burel, A. Manrique) ; «Neurosciences et sciences des comportements (UCBN & UR, responsables : P. Gandolfo, C. Ali) ; « Physiologie Immunité, Différenciation, Génétique (UCBN & UR, responsables : A. Ouvrard-Pascaud, C. Delalande).
  • Responsable des unités d’enseignement « Reproduction et Développement » (L2 IBFA), « Introduction aux biothérapies » (M1 GIC) et « Projet Professionnel Etudiant » (M1 Sciences Biomédicales et M1 AquaCaen).

Responsabilités administratives

  • Directeur adjoint de l’UMR BOREA, responsable du site de Caen.
  • Membre du Comité Régional d’Ethique sur l’Expérimentation Animale (CENOMEXA).
  • Membre élu titulaire du Conseil National des Universités, 68ème section, biologie des organismes.

Publications