User login

Philippe KOUBBI

Philippe KOUBBI's picture

Position

Professor

Affiliation

Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
Sorbonne Universités

Email

philippe.koubbi@upmc.fr

Phone

+33 1 40 79 30 95

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Team

Team 4: Larval dispersal and communities organization in austral and tropical island systems

Research axis/workshop

Transversal axe Global Change

Curriculum Vitae

Mise à l’eau du Continuous Plankton Recorder aux îles Kerguelen
Atlas biogéographique de l'Océan Austral (atlas.biodiversity.aq)

Research topics

My research activity can be summarized around four topics:

  1. Ecology of pelagic fish including meso- and bathypelagic species,
  2. Long term monitoring of plankton and ichthyoplankton in the Southern Ocean,
  3. Ecoregionalisation of the Southern Ocean including biogeochemical and biogeographic subdivisions,
  4. Support on the designation of Marine Protected Areas in the Southern Ocean.

My research project consists of finding indicators in the pelagic ecosystem (communities, species and ecophases) to study the biogeography species from the surface to the deep sea. Beside the fundamental approach which aims to define the habitats of pelagic species, this project can help to propose conservation measures in the high seas.

My major field work area is the Southern Ocean after many years studying the English Channel, the North Sea and the Mediterranean Sea.

Since 2003, we developed observing programmes in the Dumont d’Urville Sea from the R/V “L’Astrolabe” or from the R/V “Marion Dufresne II” in the subantarctic Indian zone. The samplings are carried out from two projects. The IPEV ICO²TAKs (Integrated Coastal Ocean Observations in Terre Adélie and Kerguelen) benefits from results of previous programmes such as the surveys in 2008 of the Census of Antarctic Marine Life. For the high seas of the subantarctic Indian zone, in 2013, we started to sample plankton with a Continuous Plankton Recorder.

These researches are integrated in the Zone Atelier Antarctique du CNRS (za-antarctique.univ-rennes1.fr) the international frame is under the programmes of SCAR (Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research).

These studies on the pelagic zone allowed to understand the ecology of the larval ecophase of fish (distribution, survival conditions,…) and to define pelagic ecoregions around Kerguelen and Crozet islands, in the Dumont d’Urville Sea or at the scale of the Southern Ocean with the publication in August 2014 of the biogeographic atlas of the Southern Ocean (atlas.biodiversity.aq). These researches help the process of designing potential Marine Protected Areas in the French Southern Territories (TAAF) or CCAMLR (Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Ressources).

Teaching

  • Master SDUEE –Oceanography and Marine Environment (OEM) of the Master SDUEE – UPMC
  • Bachelor’s degree in Life Sciences – UPMC
  • Member of the Pedagogic team of the OEM speciality of the Master SDUEE.

Administrative responsibilities

  • Member of the Consultative Council of TAAF (French Southern Territories)
  • Member of the Environmental Polar Committee

Publications

Displaying 1 - 3 of 15

Connexion utilisateur

Philippe KOUBBI

Portrait de Philippe KOUBBI

Statut

Professeur.e

Affiliation

Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
Sorbonne Universités

Courriel

philippe.koubbi@upmc.fr

Téléphone

+33 1 40 79 30 95

Localisation

MNHN Paris

Equipe

Equipe 4 : Dispersion Larvaire et Organisation en Milieu Austral et Insulaire Tropical

Axe/Atelier

Axe Changements Globaux

Curriculum Vitae

Mise à l’eau du Continuous Plankton Recorder aux îles Kerguelen
Atlas biogéographique de l'Océan Austral (atlas.biodiversity.aq)

Thèmes de recherche

Mon activité de recherche se développe autour de quatre thèmes:

  1. Ecologie des poissons pélagiques y compris les espèces méso- et bathypélagiques,
  2. Suivi à long terme du plancton et de l’ichtyoplancton de l’océan Austral,
  3. Ecorégionalisation de l’océan Austral intégrant les subdivisions biogéochimiques et biogéographiques,
  4. Aide à la proposition d’Aires Marines Protégées dans l’Océan Austral.

Mon projet consiste à rechercher des indicateurs des écosystèmes (communautés, espèces et écophases) permettant d’étudier la biogéographie des espèces pélagiques de la surface jusqu’aux grandes profondeurs. En dehors de l’aspect fondamental consistant à définir les habitats des espèces pélagiques, il s’agit également d’aider à la proposition de mesures de conservation concernant la haute mer.

Le chantier majeur de mes études est l’océan Austral faisant suite à plusieurs années de recherches sur la Manche, la mer du Nord et la Méditerranée.

Depuis 2003, il a été possible de mettre en place des programmes d’observation sur la mer de Dumont d’Urville à partir du N/O « l’Astrolabe » ou sur la zone subantarctique indienne grâce au N/O « Marion Dufresne II ». Les échantillonnages s’appuient sur deux programmes. Le programme IPEV ICO²TAKs (Integrated Coastal Ocean Observations in Terre Adélie and Kerguelen) intègre les résultats de programmes antérieurs comme les campagnes de 2008 du Census of Antarctic Marine Life. Pour la haute mer de la zone subantarctique indienne, nous avons commencé en 2013 des prélèvements de plancton avec un Continuous Plankton Recorder.

Ces recherches sont intégrées dans la Zone Atelier Antarctique du CNRS (za-antarctique.univ-rennes1.fr) et le cadre international de ces travaux s’inscrit dans les programmes du SCAR (Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research).

Ces travaux sur le milieu pélagique ont conduit à la compréhension de l’écologie des écophases larvaires de poissons (distribution, conditions de survie,…) et à la définition d’écorégions pélagiques autour des îles Kerguelen ou Crozet, au niveau de la mer de Dumont d’Urville ou à l’échelle de l’océan Austral avec la publication en août 2014 de l’atlas biogéographique sur l’océan Austral (atlas.biodiversity.aq). Ces recherches contribuent à la définition de potentielles futures Aires Marines Protégées pour les Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises (TAAF) et la CCAMLR (Commission sur la conservation de la faune et la flore marines de l’Antarctique).

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

  • Master SDUEE – spécialité Océanographie et Environnement Marin (OEM) du Master SDUEE – UPMC
  • Licence Sciences de la Vie – UPMC
  • Membre de l’Equipe de Formation Universitaire de la spécialité OEM du Master SDUEE.

Responsabilités administratives

  • Membre du Conseil Consultatif des TAAF (Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises) et de ses Réserves Naturelles
  • Membre du Comité de l’Environnement Polaire

Publications

Displaying 1 - 3 of 13