User login

Jean-François RENNO

Jean-François RENNO's picture

Position

Research director

Affiliation

Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)

Email

Jean-Francois.Renno@ird.fr

Phone

+33 6 45 22 85 64

Localisation

IRD Montpellier

Team

Team 7: Biodiversity & Macroecology

Research axis/workshop

Transversal axe Communication & Perception
International Mixed Laboratory EDIA

Curriculum Vitae

Lacs de méandres, Rio Ucayali, Pérou

Research topics

I am a population geneticist. I completed my thesis in French Guyana for the Institute of Evolutionary Sciences of Montpellier (ISEM), on phylogeography and population genetics of the Leporinus fish, then worked on pearl millet (Pennisetum) domestication in Niger at the beginning of my career with ORSTOM (now IRD). Currently my research focuses on the phenomena and mechanisms explaining fish speciation in the Amazon basin, with applications in aquaculture. I am co-founder of the Research Network on Amazon Ichthyofauna (RIIA), Director of the LMI "Evolution and Domestication of Amazonian Ichthyofauna" (LMI EDIA http://www.riiaamazonia.org/), Director of Research at IRD and honorary Professor at the National University of San Marcos in Lima (Peru).

My research is carried out in collaboration with our partners from Bolivia (Universidad Mayor de San Simón, Cochabamba ; Universidad Mayor de San Andrés, La Paz ; Universidad Autónoma Gabriel René Moreno, Santa Cruz), Peru (Instituto de Investigaciones de la Amazonia Peruana, Iquitos ; Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos and Universidad Nacional Federico Villareal, Lima), Colombia (SINCHI : Instituto Amazonica de Investigaciones Cientificas), Brésil (INPA -Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas da Amazônia, Manaus and Germany (University of Trier).

Teaching

About 30 hours annually in Master’s degree and Doctorate at the l’Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos (UNMSM), Peru, on the theme: “Populations Genetics”

Administrative responsibilities

Director of the LMI EDIA.

The originality of EDIA’ research program rests mainly on the implementation of a multidisciplinary research program dedicated to the study of evolution of Amazonian fish species and the development of sustainable fish farming in Amazonia, a region that is still relatively little impacted by human activities despite its fast demographic growth and where fish farming is still in its infancy. The proposed research program constitutes an integrated approach going from a better understanding of the evolution of species and populations in nature all the way to their domestication. It will allow understanding the interactions between genetic variation and life history traits in relation with environmental characteristics in both natural and experimental conditions. The researches developed in the LMI will also produce useful knowledge for fishery management and species conservation.

Connexion utilisateur

Jean-François RENNO

Portrait de Jean-François RENNO

Statut

Directeur(trice) de recherche

Affiliation

Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)

Courriel

Jean-Francois.Renno@ird.fr

Téléphone

+33 6 45 22 85 64

Localisation

IRD Montpellier

Equipe

Equipe 7 : Biodiversité et Macroécologie

Axe/Atelier

Axe Communication et Perception
Laboratoire Mixte International EDIA

Curriculum Vitae

Lacs de méandres, Rio Ucayali, Pérou

Thèmes de recherche

Je suis généticien des populations. J’ai réalisé ma thèse en Guyane dans cadre de l’ISE-M (Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier) sur la phylogéographie et la génétique des populations des poissons Leporinus, puis ai travaillé sur la domestication du Mil au Niger en début de carrière à l’ORSTOM (maintenant IRD). Actuellement mes recherches concernent essentiellement les phénomènes et mécanismes expliquant la spéciation des poissons en Amazonie, avec des applications en aquaculture. Je suis Co-fondateur du Réseau de Recherche sur l’Ichtyofaune Amazonienne (RIIA) et directeur du LMI « Evolution et Domestication de l’Ichtyofaune Amazonienne » (LMI EDIA http://www.riiaamazonia.org/), directeur de recherche à l’IRD et professeur honoraire de l’Université Nationale de San Marcos de Lima (Pérou).

Mes thématiques de recherche sont développées en collaboration avec nos partenaires Boliviens (Universidad Mayor de San Simón, Cochabamba ; Universidad Mayor de San Andrés, La Paz ; Universidad Autónoma Gabriel René Moreno, Santa Cruz) et Péruviens (Instituto de Investigaciones de la Amazonia Peruana, Iquitos ; Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos et Universidad Nacional Federico Villareal, Lima) en particuliers, mais aussi avec les partenaires amazoniens du réseau de recherche sur l’Ichtyofaune Amazonienne (RIIA) et du LMI-EDIA, en particulier les collègues Colombiens du SINCHI (Instituto Amazonica de Investigaciones Cientificas), brésiliens de l’INPA (Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas da Amazônia), Manaus et allemands de l’Université de Trier.

Enseignement et diffusion des connaissances

Cours (30 heures annuelles) en Master 2 et Doctorat à l’Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos (UNMSM) à Lima, Pérou, sur le thème : “Génétique des populations”

Responsabilités administratives

Directeur du LMI EDIA

L’originalité du programme de recherche EDIA repose principalement sur la mise en place d’un continuum entre recherche fondamentale sur l’évolution des espèces en Amazonie, à travers une approche pluridisciplinaire et les applications en pisciculture dans un contexte d’émergence de cette nouvelle activité en Amazonie, dans une région à forte croissance démographique mais encore relativement peu anthropisée. L’association de disciplines permettra ainsi d’appréhender les interactions entre la variation génétique et celle des traits de vie en fonction des caractéristiques de l'environnement en conditions naturelles ou expérimentales. Les recherches envisagées produiront, en outre, des connaissances utiles à la gestion des pêches et à la conservation des poissons étudiés.

Publications